Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Community Search

8/19/2019 » 8/21/2019
PEARLL Summer Institute: Effective Lesson Planning

8/19/2019 » 8/21/2019
Task Based Language Teaching 2019

8/22/2019 » 8/24/2019
2019 Language Policy and Planning Conference

8/30/2019 » 9/2/2019
International Conference on Integrationism

CFP: Fifth Saarbrücken Conference on Foreign Language Teaching

2013 Outstanding Service

The AATSP Outstanding Service Award is given to a member of the Association who has made outstanding service contributions to our organization. Selection criteria include holding leadership positions within the Association and/or one of its chapters, serving as a chair or member of important Association committees, writing for or editing Association publications, and/or representing the AATSP in a national or international capacity.


The 2013 recipient of the AATSP Outstanding Service Award is José Ortega; Saint Mary’s Hall, San Antonio, Texas.

José Ortega has been a member of the AATSP for 29 years and has served the organization in a variety of capacities. He served on the AATSP Executive Council from 2009-2011, has been treasurer of the San Antonio de Béjar Chapter from 2008-2013 and was President of that chapter from 1985-1987 and again from 2004-2008. José has also served as a member or chair of a number of important AATSP committees. His letters of support attest to his dedication, professionalism, and humility. The letter of nomination from his chapter states that "Without Dr. José Ortega, our AATSP San Antonio de Béjar Chapter would probably not exist. As a founding member of the local chapter, Dr. Ortega still contributes much of his energy to promoting our language and culture through a variety of means.” Another Chapter member stated that "Dr. Ortega has the wit and the spirit to motivate not only teachers and AATSP members, but students as well. Another colleague wrote that Dr. Ortega "…constantly shares his expertise with others without thinking of himself. I have not met anyone more dedicated to the AATSP as much as he is.”

Sign In

Latest News