Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Community Search

CFP: Special Issue of Language Learning

Education Policy and Multilingual Learners: Federal, State and Local Recommendations for the Future

9/27/2019 » 9/28/2019
Regional 2019 Classroom Assessment in Language Teaching (CALT) Conference

9/27/2019 » 9/28/2019
AATSP 12th Biennial Northeast Regional Conference

Featured Jobs
News & Press: AATSP News

¡Enhorabuena, Guillermo del Toro! AATSP’s 2019 Honorary Member

Thursday, May 16, 2019   (0 Comments)


The master storyteller and filmmaker, Mr. Guillermo del Toro, has been named the 2019 Honorary Fellow of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese.

Each year the AATSP considers outstanding achievement by individuals in the field of Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian languages, literatures, cultures, linguistics, and cinema for recognition as an AATSP Honorary Fellow.

Previous AATSP Fellows include writer Isabel Allende, playwright Luis Valdez, author and literary critic Silviano Santiago, among others (see

The AATSP Selection Committee of Joan L. Brown, Elias Ahuja Chair of Spanish, University of Delaware; David William Foster, Regents' Professor of Spanish and Women and Gender Studies, Arizona State University; and Liliana Soto-Fernández, Assistant Professor of Spanish, John Jay College, NY, reported that they unanimously and enthusiastically recommended the award-winning screenwriter, director and producer Guillermo del Toro for AATSP Honorary Membership. Our sixteen-member AATSP Board of Directors unanimously voted to bestow the AATSP’s highest honor on Guillermo del Toro.

Head over to Twitter and congratulate Guillermo del Toro (@RealGDT) on being the AATSP’s 2019 Honorary Member! #aatsp19 #CongratsGDT  

To read more about Guillermo del Toro, click here

Sign In

Latest News