Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Community Search

6/29/2020 » 7/31/2020
Meaningful Portfolio Implementation: Using Goal Setting, Reflection... (Online Institute)

Webinar: Let Go to Move Forward

7/13/2020 » 7/15/2020
27th International Conference on Learning

7/13/2020 » 7/17/2020
Summer Institute: Assessing Language Learners’ Communication Skills via Authentic Communicative ...

Featured Jobs
Call for Nominations for 2021 AATSP Election



 due by April 1, 2021



  1. Completed application form (PDF).
  2. Chapter Letter of Nomination OR self-nomination letter
  3. Curriculum vitae or resume of candidate


Chair, 2021 Nominating Committee
Email: (TBD

ubject Line: BOD Nomination for 2021 Election


DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT OF NOMINATIONS: Thursday, April 1, 2021 by 11:59 pm Central Time


1. What are the open positions for the 2021 Election?

The following four positions are open for the 2021 elections:

President Elect
Secondary School (9-12) Representative
College/University Representative
K-8 Representative

Members are reminded that the Bylaws require the following:

  • A President Elect must be elected annually. That person will serve for three years as President Elect in year one, President in year two, and Immediate Past President in year three.
  • At least one Board of Director member who is a college/university faculty member must be elected annually. College/university candidates must be paired on the ballot in order to ensure the election of one college/university candidate each year.
  • At least one Board of Director member who is a secondary teacher (9-12) must be elected annually. 9-12 candidates must be paired on the ballot in order to ensure the election of one 9-12 candidate each year.
  • One Board of Director seat will rotate among a representative from a community college, from K-8, and from Portuguese. In 2021, the position is earmarked for a K-8 Representative. Candidates for those rotating positions must be grouped on the ballot to ensure that a community college, K-8 or Portuguese representative will be elected every three years.

2. Who can nominate candidates for election?

Nominations may be submitted by AATSP Chapter Representatives. It is imperative to nominate well-qualified candidates at all levels of instruction in order to maintain highly competent leadership in the Association. 

Self-nominations by AATSP members in good standing are also welcomed. 

3. How are nominations submitted?

All nominations must be submitted in digital format and contain the three (3) following items:

  1. Chapter Letter of Nomination
  2. Current curriculum vitae (CV) or resume 
  3. Completed 2021 Elections application form: click here to download application form (PDF).

All documents must be formatted in Microsoft Word. Send nomination materials as attachments to an email messageSend nomination materials to the Chair of the Nominating Committee: 

Chair, 2021 Nominating Committee
Email: (TBD)

Subject Line: BOD Nomination for 2021 Election

4. What is the AATSP Policy regarding campaigning?

The following policy regarding campaigning for Board of Directors positions was approved by the AATSP Board of Directors at its meeting of April 13-14, 2007 and updated by the Board of Directors at its meeting of February 1, 2010.

Publicity regarding candidates for AATSP elections will be posted appropriately and solely by the AATSP National Office and its chapters. Candidates for the Board of Directors agree to abide by this policy prior to being placed on the AATSP ballot. The Board of Directors reserves the right to remove candidates from the ballot when this policy is not followed. 

The top two candidates within each category as selected by the committee will be asked to submit a photo, an updated CV/resume, a written Statement of Candidacy, and a short video with the Statement of Candidacy. 

5. Who selects the slate of candidates for the election?

The Nominating Committee consists of the out-going members of the Board of Directors plus at least one other national member to be selected by those out-going members. As is customary, the immediate past-president is appointed Chair of the Nominating Committee, and this was done by the Board of Directors at its July 2017 meeting. The Past President of the AATSP serves as a liaison between the Board of Directors and the Nominating Committee; the liaison serves ex-officio without vote.

The 2021 Nominating Committee consists of the following individuals: (TBD) 

The Nominating Committee will conduct its work electronically (via email). Each Nominating Committee member will write a brief evaluation of each nominee's qualifications as outlined on the CV and letters of recommendation. These evaluations are then sent to all members of the Committee for their consideration. Each Committee member then lists all the candidates for each position in rank order. Taking into consideration the rich diversity of our membership and a balanced geographic representation, the two nominees with the highest number of points in each of the slots become the candidates. 

Sign In

Latest News