AATSP, executive council, officers, president, vice president, Hispania, editor, executive director
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Community Search

CFP: UTA Student Conference in Linguistics and TESOL (UTASCILT 2019)

Board of Directors

2018 AATSP Board of Directors


The American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese is governed by a Board of Directors which includes four officers and twelve additional members. The Executive Director, President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Director of the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica, Director of the National Spanish Examinations, and the Editor of Hispania are ex-officio members of the Board of Directors. The other Board of Directors are elected by the membership and represent various constituencies within the Association.


Executive Director
Sheri Spaine Long
AATSP National Office
Birmingham, AL


 Martha Vásquez
 San Antonio Independent School District
San Antonio, TX



Past President

Cheryl Fuentes-Wagner

Sugarland, TX



Rachel Mamiya Hernandez
Portuguese Representative
University of Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI

Emily Spinelli
Former Executive Director
Bloomfield Hills, MI

Carlos Benavides
College/University Representative
University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth
North Dartmouth, MA

Megan Villanueva

K-8 Representative
Smith Middle School

Kevin Cessna-Buscemi
Director, National Spanish Examinations

Valparaiso, IN

Kelly Scheetz
Director, Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica
Franklin, TN

Parthena Draggett
Secondary (9-12) Representative
The Community School of Naples
Naples, FL

Irma Bjerre
Community College Representative
Clackamas Community College
Oregon City, OR
Adriana Aloia
Secondary (9-12) Representative
Armonk, NY

Cynthia Flax
Secondary (9-12) Representative
Clifton Park, NY

Ronald Leow

College/University Representative
Georgetown University
Washington, DC

John Maddox
College/University Representative
University of Alabama-Birmingham
Birmingham, AL

Benjamin Fraser
Editor of Hispania
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC

Sign In

Latest News