Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Community Search

7/16/2018 » 7/20/2018
CARLA Workshop: Using Technology in Second Language Teaching

7/16/2018 » 7/20/2018
CARLA Workshop: Creativity in the Language Classroom

7/16/2018 » 7/20/2018
CARLA Workshop: Teaching Language Through the Lens of Social Justice

7/16/2018 » 7/20/2018
CARLA Workshop: Immersion 101: An Introduction to Immersion Teaching

7/17/2018 » 7/20/2018
IFLT Conference 2018

2017 Candidates for Election

Get to Know the Candidates!

The following members of the AATSP are candidates for the 2017 AATSP Election.

Please click on the candidate names to view more details of their background and their candidate statement.

Balloting will end at 11:59 PM Eastern Time on Monday, October 30, 2017. Regular, joint, life, and emeritus members of the AATSP in good standing are eligible to vote.



President Elect



 Laura Jacobson

 Niles North High School; Skokie, IL


 Martha Vásquez

 San Antonio Independent School District;  San Antonio, TX




College / University Representatives



 Carlos Benavides

 University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth; North Dartmouth, MA


 Megan J. Myers

 Iowa State University; Ames, IA



Secondary (9-12) Representatives



 Adriana Aloia

 Westlake High School; Thornwood, NY


 David Brightbill

 William Penn Charter School; Philadelphia, PA



Portuguese Representatives


 Megwen Loveless

 Tulane University; New Orleans, LA


 Rachel Mamiya Hernandez

 University of Hawaii; Honolulu, HI





AATSP Policy Statement Regarding Campaigning
The following policy regarding campaigning for Executive Council positions was approved by the AATSP Executive Council at its meeting of April 13-14, 2007 and updated by the Executive Council at its meeting of February 1, 2010.

Publicity regarding candidates for AATSP elections will be posted appropriately and solely by the AATSP Headquarters and its chapters.Candidates for the Executive Council agree to abide by this policy prior to being placed on the AATSP ballot. The Executive Council reserves the right to remove candidates from the ballot when this policy is not followed.

Sign In

Latest News