Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Community Search

5/24/2018 » 5/26/2018
Technological Innovation for Specialized Linguistic Domains

5/27/2018 » 6/1/2018
NAFSA: Association of International Educators

5/28/2018 » 5/29/2018
7th Language Technology Industry Summit


5/29/2018 » 6/1/2018

SHH 2016 Call for Nominations



1.       What are the open positions for the 2016 Election?

The following position is open for the 2016 elections:

Region II Director

Click here for a list of states divided by region.

Members are reminded that the Bylaws require the following:

  • The elected positions of the National Council are President, Vice-President, and four Regional Directors.
  • In order to be eligible to serve as an officer, a person must have served for at least one year as an SHH Chapter Sponsor and be the Sponsor of an active SHH chapter at the time of election.
  • To serve as President, a person must have previously held a position on the SHH National Council.


2.       What are the duties of the SHH Advisory Board members?

All members of the SHH Advisory Board serve three-year terms. The SHH Advisory Board meets in person during the AATSP Annual Conference each summer. Members of the Board do not receive any compensation for their services, but they do receive a fixed sum for the expenses for attendance at the AATSP Annual Conference. Throughout the year, Board members participate in online discussions and votes via e-mail as well as occasional teleconference meetings.


3.       Who can nominate candidates for election?

  • Nominations may be submitted by an individual AATSP member in good standing. NOTE: Self nominations are appropriate provided that the individual is an AATSP member in good standing and the Sponsor of an active SHH chapter.
  • It is imperative to nominate well-qualified candidates at all levels of instruction in order to maintain highly competent leadership in the SHH


4.       How are nominations submitted?

  • All nominations must be submitted in digital format and contain the following:
    • Completed application form - Click here for the application form.
    • Letter of nomination that highlights the nominee’s professional accomplishments and SHH involvement 
  • All documents must be formatted in Microsoft Word.
  • Send nomination materials as attachments to an email message.
  • Send nomination materials to the Chair of the Nominating Committee.

Sara Lopez
Chair, 2016 SHH Nominating Committee
Subject Line:  Nomination for 2016 SHH Election
APPLICATION DEADLINE:  Tuesday, May 31, 2016 at 11:59PM Eastern Time


5.       What materials must a candidate provide for the website?

If selected to be a candidate for the 2016 election, all candidates for SHH office must submit two items to the SHH Director in order to appear on the ballot: a recent photo and a statement of candidacy in Spanish. The two items are then posted on the AATSP website along with the ballot and the instructions for voting.

NOTE: Do not submit the following items with nominating materials. The two items will be requested only if selected as a candidate. We have included the requirements so potential candidates are aware of what will be required.


The two items must adhere to the following requirements.


The candidate must submit a photograph that meets the following requirements:

    • color
    • jpeg format
    • portrait (not landscape) orientation
    • head and shoulders only
    • recent (not more than two years old) 


    • All candidates should provide the AATSP office with a written Statement of Candidacy in Spanish explaining why they are running for office and what they hope to accomplish if elected.
    • Within the Statement of Candidacy, candidates are encouraged to briefly describe their experiences with the SHH chapters and any previous leadership experiences.
    • The Statement of Candidacy should contain no more than 250 words and be written in Spanish. 


6.       Who selects the slate of candidates for the election?

The SHH President, in consultation with the Director, appoints a Nominating Committee of at least three members: one or two outgoing members of the National Council and a recent Chapter Sponsor of the Year or State Director of the Year, none of whom shall be the incumbent of any position to be filled.

The 2016 Nominating Committee consists of the following individuals:

Sara López, Chair; Telluride High School; Telluride, CO
Adriana Aloia; Westlake High School; Thornwood, NY

Rosa Perifimos; Carle Place High School; Carle Place, NY 



Click here to return to the SHH homepage.

For the most recent SHH news, click below and "like" the SHH Facebook page.

Sign In

Latest News